Author Topic: Spin doctor and flies  (Read 21131 times)

Pescado

• 30 Pounder
  • Keeping it Reel!
Spin doctor and flies
« on: December 27, 2012, 06:18:58 pm »
Hello All,

I am new to salmon fishing and i'm slowly buying tackle and gear to rig my new boat. In regards to tackle i'm quite sure that this year i will only be running four dipsy lines as down riggers are outside of this years budget. I'd like to have a little bit of everything available when it comes to lures. I purchased a variety of spoons and some flies, my question is what size spin doctor is best when presenting a fly? i noticed two sizes at the local Sail store. Also maybe i should use something else instead of a spin doctor, maybe a flasher or dodger? One more thing that concerns me is weather or not i should use snubbers on my lines, i will be using wire FYI.

Please help!
Pescado out!

SpoonPullers.com

• Advertisement

rochanator

• 24 Pounder
Spin doctor and flies
« Reply #1 on: December 27, 2012, 07:45:33 pm »
8 inch flashers are great with the fly. And the snubber I really don't think you need it depending how loose your drag is on your reel. I bought some snubbers and I really didn't use them.

knotreel

• 30 Pounder
Re: Spin doctor and flies
« Reply #2 on: December 28, 2012, 10:35:11 am »
I use snubbers, and think they are a good idea with wire (wire has no stretch, without a snubber i would think the hook would rip up the fishes mouth more resulting in it getting off).
As for dodgers and flashers, it's good to have a mixture I have boated a lot of fish on a silver dodger. Dodgers and flashers create different action in the water and on your bait. Somedays fish like the action of the dodger, other days it's that of the flasher!
Having a variety is good!

JustinB777

• 24 Pounder
« Reply #3 on: December 28, 2012, 09:14:02 pm »
Add a few Michigan stinger pro troll flashers to ur arsenal I prefer them over doctors

Fish-awn

• 30 Pounder
  • Screemin Reelz Sportfishing