Author Topic: Tips for using Dipsys  (Read 4949 times)

Jczuba

• Shaker
Tips for using Dipsys
« on: June 23, 2019, 12:03:05 pm »
« on: Today at 11:33:49 am »
Hi there,  I'm fairly new to salmon fishing and have my own boat this year. I launch from FP and head towards Bronte in about 90-110 ft using dipsys, spin doctors and spoons. Trolling 2.5mph average. Not much luck so far this season.  Typically have about 140 ft of braid out which I think should put me around 50 ft down on #3 setting

Any advice or changes I should make?  Thanks guys!!

Jeff

SpoonPullers.com

• Advertisement

centerspin

• 30 Pounder
Re: Tips for using Dipsys
« Reply #1 on: June 23, 2019, 12:08:58 pm »
Dio you spoons behind spindoctors or flys?  How long is your leader ffom dipsy to spoon

Jczuba

• Shaker
« Reply #2 on: June 23, 2019, 12:14:53 pm »
Using spoons.  About 3ft from dipsys to spin doctor, and another 3ft back to spoon.

baitfish

• 24 Pounder
« Reply #3 on: June 23, 2019, 01:21:41 pm »
Hey Jczuba

I would try running your spoons naked (without spin doctor) with a 8ft leader of #25-#30 floro.
If you go to a fly behind the spin doctor then go with a 5-6ft leader behind dipsey of #50 floro and tie the fly 21" behind the flasher.
This just a basic starting point.
And ya I think you should be running about 40-50 ft deep with that set-up but when fleas show up the braid will be brutal. Wire line will be the way to go.
Welcome to the money hole of salmon fishing
HIH

Baitfish

centerspin

• 30 Pounder
« Reply #4 on: June 23, 2019, 03:03:17 pm »
I find about 9 ft leader to a spoon  plus the snubber works the best for me. So I use 10.5 ft rods. Also, if you release dipsy too quick when you set it up it will flip and wont work at all. Hope it helps

ptfisher49

• Shaker
« Reply #5 on: June 23, 2019, 04:48:28 pm »