Author Topic: Achieving the double V  (Read 3290 times)

TBM

Achieving the double V
« on: February 17, 2008, 02:42:00 pm »
I was at the trolling seminar yesterday and bought into the whole double V; a V down and a V front to back.  The presenters talked about the deepest lines going out first off the riggers then the dipseys running shallower and further back and then Core or copper off of inlines running shallower and further back yet again. I am new to all of this and I would like to try this! Would you only run this setup when you are trying to locate fish and once you find them you put everything at roughly the same depth? Would you run this double V all day?  What difference in depth do you typically try to achieve? I know the one presenter said when he runs multiple dipseys off of one side he tries to have a 30 foot difference in line out, my guess is you play with the dipseys to achieve specific depths as well ... he probably mentioned it but I missed it ... what depth difference would you try to achieve? Any other comments on what patterns people try to achieve In there spreads would be appreciated as well!

SpoonPullers.com

• Advertisement

CraigMacPhee

Achieving the double V
« Reply #1 on: February 21, 2008, 08:01:00 pm »
You should run this set up until you locate fish, then, target 5-10 foot above the fish you catch and 5-10 foot below.  Keep your higher lines on the inside of your spread and your deeper rods on the outside of your spread.  We run this sort of a V all day long but sometimes we pull rods if we really get into the fish so we can spin around easier and spend more time fishing where the fish are.