Author Topic: Hello, i am new to targeting salmon  (Read 3939 times)

Jabber

• Smolt
Hello, i am new to targeting salmon
« on: September 02, 2020, 11:49:16 am »
Hello all, i am new to salmon fishing the southern shores of Lake Ontario, port dalhousie, port weller, jordan station.  i have a 20ft. tyee with riggers and was wondering how to get started, what to look for, depths,  what to use at this time of year, color, patterns, spoons, fly, meat heads??? Any info will help. If anyone would like to join me on the water, you are more than welcome, I am normally fishing alone, Thank you

SpoonPullers.com

• Advertisement

mercury25

• Shaker
Re: Hello, i am new to targeting salmon
« Reply #1 on: September 02, 2020, 10:02:30 pm »
Jabber welcome to tne addiction I sent you a PM with my cell number I can help you out.

TyeeTanic

• Full Box
  • King Kongs
« Reply #2 on: September 03, 2020, 11:07:16 am »
Welcome.

It's going to take a couple of years to figure all that out.

Some starting thoughts, really quickly .... you will eventually end up with down riggers running 30 lb mono line on rods, good for spoons and meat on paddles. You will also run wire line dipsey (7 strand is good, need a special rod to handle wire ... rapala rsc, shimano talora even better but $$), you also want to run leadcore early in the season and copper through the season again special rods needed ...

Salmon is all about finding the fish ... where are they on the lake ... and to give you a high level idea. They start at Niagara (mature salmon), move USA south shore east, then hop across the lake on east end (Port Hope to Toronto) and then move west ... but that is very general ... you'll find them everywhere at any given time, just the numbers rise and fall.  At end of season (like now) they start staging at river mouths.